Executive Education Course: Food and Natural Resource Sustainability in Qatar | Hamad Bin Khalifa University

Events

Executive Education Course: Food and Natural Resource Sustainability in Qatar

19 - 23Nov2017
  • 04:00 PM - 07:30 PM
  • LAS Building, Education City

Course Description

In a globalised world, food and natural resources are critical: it is especially crucial to secure them in a sustainable way. In contexts like Qatar, undergoing critical changes linked to economic diversification, to the shift towards clean and sustainable energies, and to the effects of climate change, it is strategic to take into account the specific context and needs and ongoing changes. Using lessons learned and results obtained by the Qatar National Research Priority Program project entitled “Governance of Natural Resources in Sub-Saharan Africa: Advancing a Qatari Perspective,” under grant NPRP # 6-1272-5-160 funded by Qatar National Research Fund (QNRF), this course presents best practices from sub-Saharan African contexts, not only to propose case studies to analyze, but also to draw lessons and learning tailored for Qatari stakeholders or foreign ones operating in Qatar. After the June 2017 events, important global issues like food security and natural resource governance are nowadays more than ever of particular relevance for Qatar and required to be dealt with by stakeholders in all sectors. 

Pedagogy

Participants will be provided with real-world case studies, data, and fieldwork information, and experiences from Africa and will become familiar with the most essential understanding of food security and with natural resource governance from an economic, political economy, and legal perspective. Qatari stakeholders with African experience will be invited to share their experiences and views on these critical issues. Every participant will be invited to study food security or a given natural resource in a specific African country as a case study and to identify lessons and relevant policy experiences for the Qatari context. 

Targeted Audience

The targeted audience is wide as it encompasses all the variety of stakeholders concerned by natural resource governance and food sovereignty in Qatar. It includes, but it is not limited to: academics; researchers and policy analysts; graduate students; public officials; private sector stakeholders. 

Course Goals and Objectives

The objective of this course is to: 

  • Provide participants with knowledge of the most up-to-date concepts, theories, and foundations on food sovereignty and natural resource governance.
  • Equip participants with analytical perspectives to compare and contrast policy models and experiences.
  • Introduce ideas, processes, steps, and strategies required to apply these analytical skills in different contexts and situations.
  • Help participants design and build their own analytical and policy capacities through coaching to address complex social and environmental problems in sustainable and profitable ways (with African and Qatari examples).

Desired Learning Outcomes

Upon completion of this five-days (twenty hours) class, participants are expected to:

  • Conceptualize food and natural resource policies and dynamics in a variety of contexts and situations and in the contemporary global world with its challenges and risks. 
  • Master natural resource governance and food sovereignty issues and responses in Qatar and in comparison with African contexts from a legal, political economy, and economic perspective. 
  • Identify and classify factors and barriers associated with successful governance of resources and develop analytical capacities in this domain.

Weekly Schedule of Topics to be Covered

Day 1 (3 hours)

Presentation of the Literature, Theories, Concepts; Methodology of this course (Cristina)

Day 2 (3 hours)

A Legal Perspective on Natural Resource Governance and Food Sustainability (Damilola)

Day 3 (3 hours)

The Political Economy of Natural Resources and Food (Evren)

Day 4 (3 hours)

Participants’ Case Studies

Day 5 (3 hours)

Additional Case Studies

Lessons Learned

Biographies

The course will be taught by:

  • Dr. Cristina D’Alessandro is a political and economic geographer. Her MA and PhD are from the Université François-Rabelais de Tours, France. Her research looks at natural resource governance, development, economic diversification, leadership, and urban transformation.
  • Dr. Damilola Olawuyi is an associate professor of law at HBKU’s College of Law and Public Policy. Dr. Olawuyi received his Ph.D. in energy and environmental law from the University of Oxford, United Kingdom, an LL.M from Harvard University, and another LL.M from the University of Calgary, Canada.
  • Dr. Mohamed Evren Tok received his MA and PhD from Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. His MA was in political economy and PhD was a collaborative degree in public policy and political economy. His research looks into various corporate social responsibility practices globally and study the entrepreneurship, ethics and values nexus. 

Registration:

To register for this course, email .

Course Fees:

Course fees are 1,500 QAR.

دورة دراسات تنفيذية: استدامة الغذاء والموارد الطبيعية في قطر | Hamad Bin Khalifa University

الفعاليات

دورة دراسات تنفيذية: استدامة الغذاء والموارد الطبيعية في قطر

19 - 23أكتوبر2017
  • 04:00 مساءً - 07:30 مساءً
  • مبنى الآداب والعلوم، المدينة التعليمية

تفاصيل الدورة

للغذاء والموارد الطبيعية أهمية قصوى في عصر العولمة، فمن الأهمية بمكان تأمين الغذاء والموارد الطبيعية بصفة مستدامة. وفي سياق التحولات الهامة الجارية في قطر وعلاقتها بالتنوع الاقتصادي، والتحول إلى مصادر الطاقة النظيفة والمستدامة، وصولاً إلى التأثير الناتج عن ظاهرة التغير المناخي، فإنه من وجهة النظر الاستراتيجية، ينبغي النظر بعين الاعتبار إلى السياق بشكل محدد وإلى الاحتياجات والتغيرات الجارية، مع الاستفادة من الدروس والنتائج المكتسبة من مشروع برنامج الأولويات الوطنية للبحث العلمي في قطر تحت عنوان: "إدارة الموارد البشرية في منطقة جنوب الصحراء الكبرى في قارة أفريقيا: تطوير التصور القطري"، تحت المنحة المقدمة من برنامج الأولويات الوطنية للبحث العلمي برقم: 160-5-1272-6 التي يمولها الصندوق القطري لرعاية البحث العلمي. تعرض هذه الدورة لأفضل الممارسات المطبقة في جنوب الصحراء الكبرى، ولا تقترح فقط دراسة الحالات بغرض التحليل، لكن أيضًا تستخلص الدروس والمعرفة المفيدة لأصحاب الشأن القطريين، أو الأجانب الذين يعملون في قطر. وبعد فعاليات يونيو 2017، أصبحت القضايا العالمية المهمة مثل الأمن الغذائي وإدارة الموارد الطبيعية في الوقت الحاضر أكثر أهمية من ذي قبل بالنسبة لدولة قطر على وجه الخصوص، ومن الضروري لأصحاب الشأن التعامل معها في جميع القطاعات.

مناهج التدريس

يُزود المشتركون في الدورة بدراسات حالة واقعية، وبالبيانات والمعلومات الخاصة بالعمل الميداني، والخبرات الواردة من أفريقيا، وسوف يتعرفون على أهم أنماط الفهم الأساسي للأمن الغذائي وإدارة الموارد البشرية، وفقًا للتصور الاقتصادي والاقتصادي السياسي والقانوني. كما أن أصحاب الشأن القطريين مدعون بالإضافة للخبرات الأفريقية لتبادل خبراتهم وآرائهم حول هذه القضايا الهامة. كما نحث كل مشارك على دراسة الأمن الغذائي، أو أحد الموارد الطبيعية المعطاة في بلد أفريقي محدد كدراسة حالة، والتعرف على الدروس المستفادة والخبرات ذات العلاقة بالسياسات لكي يستفيد منها الواقع القطري. 

الجمهور المستهدف

تستهدف هذه الدورة جمهورًا عريضًا يشمل جميع أصحاب الشأن المهتمين بإدارة الموارد الطبيعية وتحقيق الاستقلال الغذائي في قطر. يضم هذا الجمهور المستهدف على سبيل المثال لا الحصر: الخبراء الأكاديميين، والباحثين ومحللي السياسات، وطلاب الدراسات العليا، والموظفين العموميين، وأصحاب الشأن من القطاع الخاص. 

أهداف الدورة وغاياتها

تهدف الدورة إلى:
  • تعريف المشاركين بأحدث التصورات والنظريات والأسس ذات العلاقة بالاستقلال الغذائي وإدارة الموارد الطبيعية.
  • تزويد المشاركين بالمفاهيم التحليلية للمقارنة بين أنماط السياسات والخبرات المختلفة.
  • طرح الأفكار والمنهجيات والخطوات والاستراتيجيات الضرورية لتطبيق هذه المهارات التحليلية في سياقات ومواقف مختلفة.
  • مساعدة المشاركين على بناء ورسم قدراتهم التحليلية وإمكاناتهم ذات العلاقة بالسياسات من خلال التدريب؛ لمعالجة المشكلات الاجتماعية والبيئية المعقدة بطرق مستدامة ومثمرة (مع إعطاء نماذج أفريقية وقطرية).

النتائج المعرفية المرجوة 

عند إتمام هذه الدورة التي تُعقد على مدار خمسة أيام (عشرين ساعة)، يُتوقع من المشاركين:

  • القدرة على تصور سياسات الغذاء والموارد الطبيعية وقواها المحركة في سياقات ومواقف متنوعة في العالم المعاصر بكل ما يحيط به من تحديات ومخاطر.
  • إتقان المعرفة بقضايا إدارة الموارد الطبيعية والاستقلال الغذائي وردود الفعل في قطر، ومقارنتها بالنماذج الأفريقية وفقًا للتصور القانوني والاقتصادي والاقتصادي السياسي.
  • تحديد وتصنيف العوامل والعقبات التي تواجه الإدارة الفعالة للموارد، وتطوير القدرات التحليلية في هذا الصدد. 

الجدول الأسبوعي لموضوعات الدورة

اليوم الأول (3 ساعات)

تقديم المواد المطبوعة والنظريات والتصورات والمنهجيات الخاصة بهذه الدورة (كريستينا) 

اليوم الثاني (3 ساعات)

التصور القانوني بشأن إدارة الموارد الطبيعية واستدامة الغذاء (داميلولا). 

اليوم الثالث (3 ساعات)

الاقتصاد السياسي للموارد الطبيعية والغذاء (افرين)

اليوم الرابع (3 ساعات)

دراسة المشاركين للحالات

اليوم الخامس (3 ساعات)

دراسة حالات إضافية
الدروس المستفادة
السير الذاتية

يحاضر في هذه الدورة:

  • الدكتورة كريستينا دي اليسندرو، عالمة في الجغرافيا السياسية والاقتصادية. حصلت على درجتي الماجستير والدكتوراه من جامعة فرانسواز-رابلياس دي تورز في فرنسا. تركز بحوثها العلمية على إدارة الموارد الطبيعية والتنمية والتنوع الاقتصادي والقيادة والتحول الحضري.
  • الدكتور داميلولا أولوي، أستاذ قانون مشارك بكلية القانون والسياسة العامة في جامعة حمد بن خليفة. حاز على درجة الدكتوراه في قانون الطاقة والبيئة من جامعة أكسفورد بالمملكة المتحدة، والماجستير في القانون من جامعة هارفرد، وماجستير ثانِ في القانون من جامعة كالجاري في كندا.
  • الدكتور محمد افرين توك، حاصل على درجتي الماجستير في الاقتصاد السياسي والدكتوراه في السياسة العامة والاقتصاد السياسي من جامعة كارلتون في اوتاوا، اونتاريو، كندا. تركز بحوثه العلمية على الممارسات العالمية المتنوعة بشأن المسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات، وتناولت ريادة الأعمال والأخلاقيات والقيم. 

التسجيل

للتسجيل في الدورة، تواصل مع

رسوم الدورة

رسوم الدورة 1500 ريال قطري