BACHELOR OF SCIENCE IN COMPUTER ENGINEERING

Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering

Undergraduate program for the aspiring globally competitive computer engineering professionals.

The aim of Hamad Bin Khalifa University’s Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering is to produce globally competitive computer engineering professionals for Qatar, the region, and the wider world.

The program, delivered by HBKU’s College of Science and Engineering, is built on HBKU’s unique model of developing interdisciplinary programs that draw on the expert knowledge of its partner institutions alongside its own faculty. This means that students are able to take courses provided by Texas A&M University at Qatar and Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar in addition to the comprehensive range of course offerings from HBKU. Students explore the design of real-world computer engineering systems and are exposed to real-life problems and challenges through a design component that is integrated into the program, as well as through a final year project. The dynamic multidisciplinary approach of the curriculum equips the program’s graduates with an exceptionally well-rounded understanding of computer engineering, ensuring that they have all the necessary skills needed for them to go on to explore a wide range of rewarding careers or further study.

Typically, the grade assessment is based on a final examination, mid-term examinations, quizzes, and assignments that include project and/or laboratory work. Credits are earned semester-by-semester, of which there are eight (two per year, spread across four years).

Each student is required to complete a final year project as an individual or as a member of a team of 2-4 classmates. The goal of this project is to give students the opportunity to integrate and synthesize the theoretical and experiential knowledge they have built up over the duration of the program. The final year project is conducted under the supervision of faculty.


Program Focus

  • The cross-disciplinary aspects of computer science and electronic engineering.
  • A thorough understanding of computing devices, systems, and tools – ranging from specialized embedded processors to communication networks to software development.
  • The skills needed to design a computer-based system.
  • The application of mathematics in engineering.
  • The role of hardware and software tools in the solving of engineering problems.
  • Ethical and professional responsibility in computer engineering.
  • The role of computer engineering and of computer engineers in society, both at a local and a global level.

 

Curriculum

A 130 - credit full-time program, taught in English over four years, comprised of:

  • 19 General educational courses (in humanities, social analysis, quantitative reasoning, and arts)

  • Mathematics and science courses

  • Core computer engineering courses

  • Core curriculum electives

  • Specialized electives

  • General engineering electives

  • English communication electives

View Admission & Application Requirements

هو برنامج جامعي لمحترفي هندسة الحاسوب الطموحين والقادرين على المنافسة عالميًّا.

يهدف برنامج بكالوريوس العلوم في هندسة الحاسوب بجامعة حمد بن خليفة إلى تخريج متخصِّصين في هندسة الحاسوب، ممن لديهم القدرة على المنافسة عالميًّا؛ من أجل دولة قطر، والمنطقة، والعالم بأسره.

ويقوم البرنامج، الذي تُقدِّمه كلية العلوم والهندسة التابعة لجامعة حمد بن خليفة، على سياسة تعدُّد التخصصات التي تُركِّز عليها الجامعة، وبناءً على ذلك، فإن منهجية التعليم التي يعتمدها البرنامج ستستفيد بشكل كبير من الخبرات المعرفية للجامعات الشريكة، جنبًا إلى جنب مع أعضاء هيئة التدريس في الكلية. مما يعني إتاحة الفرصة أمام الطلاب للالتحاق بالدورات التي تُقدِّمها جامعة تكساس إي أند أم في قطر، وجامعة كارنيجي ميلون في قطر، إضافةً إلى مجموعة شاملة من الدورات التدريبية التي تقدمها جامعة حمد بن خليفة. كما ستُتاح الفرصة للطلاب لاستكشاف تصاميم واقعية لهندسة أنظمة الحاسوب، والتعرُّض لتحديات عملية واقعية باستحداث عناصر تصميمية من إنتاجهم تتكامل مع البرنامج. وسيُعبّر الطلبة عن إبداعاتهم من خلال مشروع السنة الأخيرة الذي يتم تقديمه قُبيل تخرجهم. وسوف تسهم منهجية التعليم هذه في تزويد الطلاب بمعرفة كاملة، ومتوازنة وشاملة، عن علوم الحاسوب والهندسة الإلكترونية، ومنحهم مجموعة واسعة من المهارات والمعارف التي تؤهلهم للاكتشاف والبحث عن عدد من الوظائف المكافئة، أو متابعة دراستهم.

يعتمد تقييم الدرجات عادةً على اجتياز الاختبار النهائي، واختبارات منتصف الفصل الدراسي، والاختبارات الموجزة، والمهام الدراسية التي تشمل: المشاريع والأعمال المختبرية. وتُقدَّم الساعات الدراسية المعتمدة عن كل فصل دراسي على حِدة؛ ويبلغ عددها ثمانية فصول دراسية (فصلان في كل العام، موزعة على أربعة أعوام).

ويجب على كل طالب أن يقوم بإنهاء مشروع السنة النهائية بمفرده، أو بمشاركة فريق من زملاء الدراسة يتكون من (2-4) أعضاء. ويهدف هذا المشروع إلى إتاحة الفرصة للطلاب لدمج المعرفة النظرية بالمعرفة العملية، التي حصلوا عليها طوال مدة البرنامج. ويكون مشروع السنة النهائية تحت إشراف أعضاء هيئة التدريس.


تركيز البرنامج :

يُركِّز البرنامج على الأمور التالية:

  • الجوانب المتعددة التخصصات لعلوم الحاسوب، والهندسة الإلكترونية.
  • الفهم الشامل لأجهزة الحاسوب، وأنظمته، وأدواته؛ بدءًا من المعالِجات المُدمجة المتخصصة، مرورًا بشبكات الاتصالات، وتطوير البرمجيات.
  • المهارات اللازمة لتصميم نظام قائم على الحاسوب.
  • تطبيق الرياضيات في الهندسة.
  • دور المكونات الصلبة والبرمجيات في حل المشاكل الهندسية.
  • المسؤولية الأخلاقية والمهنية في هندسة الحاسوب.
  • دور هندسة الحاسوب ومهندسي الحاسوب في المجتمع، على المستويين المحلي والعالمي.

المقرَّرات الدراسية :

يستغرق البرنامج (130) ساعة معتمدة، بدوام كامل، لمدة أربعة أعوام، ويُدرَّس باللغة الإنجليزية، ويتضمَّن:

  • (19) مقرَّرًا تعليميًّا عامًّا (في العلوم الإنسانية، والتحليل الاجتماعي، والاستدلال الكمِّي، والفنون).

  • مقرَّرًا دراسيًّا في الرياضيات والعلوم

  • مقرَّرًا دراسيًّا في هندسة الحاسوب الأساسية

  • مقرَّرًا اختياريًّا في المقرَّرات الدراسية الأساسية

  • مقرَّرًا اختياريًّا متخصِّصًا.

  • مقرَّرات اختيارية في الهندسة العامة

  • مقرَّرات اختيارية في التواصل باللغة الإنجليزية

عرض شروط القبول وطلبات التقديم