PhD in Computer Science and Engineering | Hamad Bin Khalifa University
cse

PhD in Computer Science and Engineering

Doctoral program providing exposure to groundbreaking research and invaluable experience in the high-demand field of computer science and engineering.

Doctoral students will gain exposure to, and contribute to, groundbreaking research, giving them invaluable experience that will translate into an exciting, challenging, and well-compensated job in the high-demand field of computer science and engineering.

The HBKU Computer Science and Engineering PhD program provides students with a solid, fundamental, and advanced education, as well as strong research experience and a broad understanding of aspects related to computer science and engineering.The program aims to equip students with advanced, up-to-date knowledge of computer science and engineering, plus the methods, tools, and technologies needed to explore this fast-evolving field. The program provides a broad, multidisciplinary, research-intensive education at the boundary of computer science and engineering while providing specialization streams in contemporary fields that are globally important and also relevant to Qatar, such as systems and computer security, software engineering, computational sciences, computer architecture and VLSI, robotics machine perception, sensing technologies, human computer interface (HCI), Big Data and data analytics, machine learning and artificial intelligence, computer vision and graphics, and wireless and mobile computing and networking.Students have the opportunity to perform research alongside world-class faculty who are leaders in their respective fields.Students gain access to state-of-the-art laboratories and facilities within HBKU including the HBKU Research Complex.Students develop skills that position them to take leading roles in an exceptionally active and highly competitive area of the job market.

Students without a master’s degree but with exceptional performance in an approved bachelor’s degree may be admitted to the PhD program but will need to take 9 additional credits of coursework (3 elective courses).
PhD students should pass a candidacy examination after their second semester and successfully defend their thesis proposal to their committee after their fourth semester of study.


Program Focus

This program focuses on the core skills needed to build a successful advanced career in computer science, engineering, and technology-related areas. It explores research methods, advanced algorithms and data structure, computer architecture and VLSI, ethics, technical writing, and a number of relevant specialties. 

Students are required to conduct original and guided research with faculty supervision that concentrates on the contemporary issues in computer science and engineering that are globally important and are also relevant to Qatar. 

The program provides the students with a broad understanding of the field, together with the flexibility to specialize in contemporary and up-to-date areas of computer science and engineering.

The multidisciplinary approach to the curriculum builds fundamental knowledge that evolves in line with the developments taking place within the field of computer science and engineering, equipping graduates with the tools needed to pursue a wide variety of career paths. 

Curriculum:

A 68-credit program, taught in English, typically over 3 years (for students already possessing a master’s degree) or 4 years (for students without a master’s degree) that includes:

  • 3 core courses to provide students coming from diverse backgrounds with a coherent learning environment that enables them to tackle complex issues in computer science and engineering. The core courses are:

    - Research Methods and Ethics
    - Advanced Algorithms and Data Structures
    - Computer Architecture and VLSI
    - 3 elective courses

  • 6 semesters of graduate research seminars

  • A 44-credit research thesis under the supervision of an adviser and a PhD dissertation committee.

View Admission & Application Requirements

يهدف البرنامج إلى إبراز البحوث الفريدة من نوعها والتجارب القيِّمة في مجال علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، الذي يزداد الطلب عليه يومًا بعد يوم.

سيكتشف طلاب درجة الدكتوراه البحوث الفريدة من نوعها ويشاركون فيها، مما يتيح لهم تجربة قيِّمة، وفرصًا عظيمة للحصول على وظائف مرموقة ورائعة ومربحة في مجال علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، الذي يزداد الطلب عليه يومًا بعد يوم.

يُوفِّر برنامج الدكتوراه في علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، الخاص بجامعة حمد بن خليفة، تعليمًا قويًّا وأساسيًّا ومتطورًا للطلاب، فضلًا عن التجربة البحثية، وفهم المجالات المتعلقة بعلوم الحاسوب وهندسته بصورة أكبر. ويهدف البرنامج إلى تزويد الطلاب بالمعرفة المتطورة والمتقدمة في مجال علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، إضافةً إلى الوسائل والأدوات والتقنيات التكنولوجية اللازمة لاستكشاف هذا المجال السريع التطور. كما يُوفِّر البرنامج تعليمًا على نطاق واسع ومتعدد التخصصات، ويركز على البحوث المكثَّفة الخاصة بعلوم الحاسوب وهندسته، مع إتاحة اتجاهات التخصص في المجالات المعاصرة، ذات الأهمية الكبرى على مستوى العالم، وذات الصلة الكبيرة بدولة قطر، مثل: أمن الحاسوب وأنظمته، وهندسة البرمجيات، وعلوم الحاسوب، ومعمارية الحاسوب، والدوائر الإلكترونية المتكاملة، وعلم الإنسان الآلي، وتكنولوجيا الاستشعار، والتفاعل بين الإنسان والحاسوب، وتحليل البيانات الهائلة، والتعلُّم الآلي، والذكاء الاصطناعي، والرؤية الحاسوبية، وتصاميم الجرافيك، والحوسبة المتنقلة، والحوسبة اللاسلكية، والشبكات. وتُتاح للطلاب فرصة إجراء البحوث تحت رعاية هيئة تدريس على مستوى عالمي، ممن يعتبرون قادة، كلًّا في مجاله الخاص به. ويستطيع الطلاب الدخول إلى أحدث المختبرات والمنشآت داخل جامعة حمد بن خليفة، بما في ذلك معاهد البحوث الخاصة بجامعة حمد بن خليفة. ويعكف الطلاب على تنمية مهاراتهم التي تؤهلهم لتولي أرفع المناصب في هذا المجال النشط بصورة استثنائية، والذي ينافس بقوة في سوق العمل.

فيما يخص الطلاب الذين لم يحصلوا على درجة الماجستير، وقدَّموا أداءً متميزًا في الحصول على درجة البكالوريوس المعتمدة، فبإمكانهم الالتحاق ببرنامج الدكتوراه، شريطة حصولهم على دورات دراسية بعدد (9) ساعات معتمدة إضافية (منها 3 مقرَّرات اختيارية).

ويجب على الطلاب الراغبين في الالتحاق ببرنامج الدكتوراه اجتياز اختبار الترشُّح عقب انتهاء الفصل الدراسي الثاني، والنجاح في مناقشة أطروحتهم العلمية المقدمة إلى لجنة المناقشة عقب الفصل الدراسي الرابع لهم بالجامعة.

 


تركيز البرنامج :

يُركِّز البرنامج على المهارات الرئيسة المطلوبة لبناء حياة مهنية متطورة ناجحة في مجال علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، والمجالات ذات الصلة بالتكنولوجيا. إضافةً إلى ذلك، فهو يستكشف الوسائل البحثية، واللوغاريتمات المتطورة، وبنية البيانات، ومعمارية الحاسوب، الدائرة المتكاملة، والأخلاقيات والكتابة الفنية، وعددًا من التخصصات ذات الصلة.

ينبغي على الطلاب إجراء بحوث أصلية وموجهة تحت إشراف هيئة التدريس، مع التركيز على المشكلات المعاصرة في مجال علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، ذات الأهمية الكبرى على مستوى العالم، وذات الصلة الكبيرة بدولة قطر. 

يؤهل البرنامج الطلاب لفهم هذا المجال بصورة شاملة، فضلًا عن توفُّر مرونة التخصص في أيٍّ من المجالات المعاصرة والحديثة الخاصة بعلوم الحاسوب وهندسته.

لا شك أن النهج المتعدد التخصصات المعمول به في المقرَّرات، يستهدف بناء معرفة أساسية تتطور وفقًا للمستجدات التي تحدث في مجال علوم الحاسوب وهندسته، وتجهيز الخريجين بالأدوات والتقنيات المطلوبة، مما يمكنهم من الحصول على فرص كبيرة ومتنوعة من الوظائف.

 

المقرَّرات الدراسية :

يستغرق البرنامج (68) ساعة معتمدة، ويُدرَّس باللغة الإنجليزية، ومدته، للطلاب الحاصلين على درجة الماجستير، (3) أعوام في الغالب، و(4) أعوام للطلاب غير الحاصلين على درجة الماجستير. ويتضمَّن:

  • (3) مقرَّرات دراسية رئيسة لتزويد الطلاب القادمين من خلفيات متنوعة، ببيئة تعليم متسقة، تُمكِّنهم من التعامل مع المشكلات المعقدة في علوم الحاسوب وهندسته. وتتضمَّن هذه المقرَّرات:

    - أساليب البحث وأخلاقياته.

    -اللوغاريتمات المتطورة، وبنية البيانات.

    -معمارية الحاسوب، والدوائر الإلكترونية المتكاملة .

    -(3) مقرَّرات اختيارية.

     

  • ندوات بحثية للخريجين على مدار الفصول الدراسية

  • أطروحة علمية لمدة 44 ساعة معتمدة، تحت إشراف مشرف ولجنة أطروحة الدكتوراه

عرض شروط القبول وطلبات التقديم