HBKU’s College of Humanities and Social Sciences Seminar Examines EU Strategy and Developments | Hamad Bin Khalifa University

HBKU’s College of Humanities and Social Sciences Seminar Examines EU Strategy and Developments

02 Dec 2018

HBKU’s College of Humanities and Social Sciences Seminar Examines EU Strategy and Developments

Hamad Bin Khalifa University’s (HBKU) College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS) recently hosted a seminar entitled Strengthening Resilience, Regional Cooperation and the Rules-Based Global Order, in collaboration with the Austrian Embassy in Doha. CHSS frequently engages in cross-cultural discourse to promote a better understanding of sociopolitical aspects from a humanities perspective. 

The European Union Global Strategy (EUGS), formally known as the Global Strategy for the Foreign and Security Policy of the European Union, was put together with the aim of improving the effectiveness of the European Union and its member states.

The seminar took the form of a panel discussion, where participants examined the present European perspective on the EUGS and how it affects the region.

Speaking at the event, Dr. Amal Al-Malki, founding dean of CHSS, said: “Throughout this seminar, we were privileged to have the expertise of our participants and engage the students as active drivers of this discussion on the EUGS and its connection to recent developments. By encouraging students to participate, CHSS hopes to continue to provide an open space for intellectual freedom of speech and insight that furthers our regular curricula teachings.”

Dr. Steven M. Wright, associate dean and associate professor at CHSS, moderated the panel discussion between Ms. Christina Kokkinakis, director of the EU Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) at the Austrian Federal Ministry for European Foreign Affairs and Integration; Dr. Ibrahim Fraihat, professor at the Doha Institute for Graduate Studies and Georgetown University in Qatar; and Mr. Alar Olljum, minister counsellor responsible for Kuwait and Qatar at the European Union Delegation in Riyadh. 

Commenting on the seminar, Dr. Wright, said: “CHSS regularly hosts informative events that invite leading experts to share their unique perspectives on topical global issues, while strengthening HBKU’s partnerships with local and international institutions. The seminar enabled panelists to offer attendees a greater understanding of the EUGS, its importance, and its complexities.” 

HBKU's CHSS provides transformative educational and interdisciplinary experiences. Through its multidisciplinary graduate programs, the college aims to nurture socially responsible global citizens whose versatility will enable them to navigate the complexities of today’s world and become the leaders of tomorrow.

Earlier this year, CHSS hosted its Diplomatic Panel with the presence of high-level attendees representing missions in Austria; the UK, Great Britain, and Northern Ireland; as well as former delegates of the State of Qatar in the Republic of South Africa. 

The Strengthening Resilience, Regional Cooperation and the Rules-Based Global Order seminar was held at the Multaqa (formerly the Education City Student Center) on November 26.

كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية بجامعة حمد بن خليفة تستضيف ندوة تناقش قضايا الاتحاد الأوروبي | Hamad Bin Khalifa University

كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية بجامعة حمد بن خليفة تستضيف ندوة تناقش قضايا الاتحاد الأوروبي

02 ديسمبر 2018

كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية بجامعة حمد بن خليفة تستضيف ندوة تناقش قضايا الاتحاد الأوروبي

استضافت كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية بجامعة حمد بن خليفة، مؤخرًا، ندوة بعنوان “تعزيز قدرات الصمود والتعاون الإقليمي والنظام القائم على القوانين"، بالتعاون مع السفارة النمساوية في الدوحة. وتشارك كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية بشكل مستمر في تعزيز الخطاب بين الثقافات بهدف التوصل إلى فهم أفضل للجوانب الاجتماعية والسياسية من منظور العلوم الإنسانية.  

وتتميز الاستراتيجية العالمية للاتحاد الأوروبي، المعروفة رسميًا باسم الاستراتيجية العالمية للسياسة الخارجية والأمنية للاتحاد الأوروبي، بأنها نظام يسعى إلى تحسين فعالية أنظمة الاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء فيه.

وعُقدت الندوة في شكل حلقة نقاش قدّم خلالها المتحدثون وجهة النظر الأوروبية الحالية بشأن نظام الاستراتيجية العالمية للاتحاد الأوروبي، وملاحظات مقارنة بخصوص منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. 

وفي معرض تعليقها على الفعالية، قالت الدكتورة أمل المالكي، العميدة المؤسسة لكلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية: "من خلال هذه الندوة، حظينا بخبرات المشاركين ومشاركة الطلاب كمحركين نشطين لهذه المناقشة حول الاستراتيجية العالمية للاتحاد الأوروبي، وعلاقتها بالتطورات الأخيرة. ومن خلال تشجيع الطلاب على المشاركة، تأمل كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية في الاستمرار بتوفير مساحة مفتوحة لحرية التعبير والرؤية الفكرية التي تعزز من تعاليم مناهجنا الدراسية الاعتيادية".

وأدار الدكتور ستيفن إم رايت، العميد المشارك والأستاذ المشارك في كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية بجامعة حمد بن خليفة، حلقة النقاش التي عقدت بين السيدة كريستينا كوكيناكيس، مدير السياسات الخارجية العامة والأمن بالاتحاد الأوروبي في الوزارة الاتحادية النمساوية للشؤون الأوروبية وشؤون الاندماج، والشؤون الخارجية، والدكتور إبراهيم فريحات، الأستاذ بمعهد الدوحة للدراسات العليا وجامعة جورجتاون في قطر، والسيد آلار أوليوم، مستشار الوزير المسؤول عن الكويت وقطر في مفوضية الاتحاد الأوروبي بالرياض.

وعلّق الدكتور رايت على الندوة، فقال: "تستضيف كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية بانتظام الفعاليات الهادفة التي توجه الدعوة للخبراء الرائدين لتبادل وجهات نظرهم الفريدة عن القضايا العالمية المهمة، إلى جانب تعزيز شراكات جامعة حمد بن خليفة مع الهيئات المحلية والدولية. وقد مَكَّنت الندوة المتحدثين من تزويد الحضور بفهم أكبر لمفهوم الأستراتيجية، وأهميتها، وتعقيداتها في العصر الحالي."

وتقدّم كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية تجارب تعليمية تحويلية تجسر الحدود بين التخصصات المختلفة. وتهدف الكلية، من خلال برامج الدراسات العليا متعددة التخصصات التي تقدمها، إلى تأهيل مواطنين عالميين، مسؤولين اجتماعيًا، لكي يتمكنوا من تجاوز تعقيدات العالم الحالي، وأن يصبحوا قادة الغد.

وفي وقت سابق من هذا العام، عقدت كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية حلقة نقاش دبلوماسية بحضور وفد رفيع المستوى تضمن ممثلين عن الهيئات الدبلوماسية للنمسا، والمملكة المتحدة وبريطانيا وإيرلندا الشمالية، مع مشاركة ممثلين سابقين لدولة قطر في جمهورية جنوب أفريقيا.

وعُقدت الندوة في مبنى ملتقى (المعروف سابقًا باسم مركز طلاب المدينة التعليمية)، بتاريخ 26 نوفمبر الماضي.